Children’s Book Stuff

It’s Children’s Book Week at Lake Effect! Here’s some illos in my retro-ey 50’s style I did for Lerner Publishing in Minneapolis. They were for a 4-book series that taught memorization techniques for kids, i.e., mnemonic devices, called “Adventures In Memory”, naturally. These particular pieces were from the last of the four, and involved things like punctuation, grammar and spelling.

Anyway, I really enjoyed working with the bright colors and characters. At times, it was a challenge to coordinate between the educational aspect and the silly stuff, but the series was a blast to do, and I’ll post more through the week.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Children’s Book Stuff

  1. mskatykins says:

    I am working on a picture book. I’d love to become a well established (well respected) children’s lit author…

    • patsandy says:

      I think you’d be great at it, K! Would love to see how you’re coming along…I’m always messing with ideas and stuff…we should chat sometime about it!

      • mskatykins says:

        We definitely should do! Thank you for the encouragement. I’ve not worked on it in a little while, but I started it early this year, so I just to get myself into gear. 😀 It’s a lot of fun creating those kind of characters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

